British Crime Book of the month

Noir Book of the Month – May 2020

”Nobody asked us to look. Every day, every since, I still wish we hadn’t.” A gritty crime novel for those who were glued to Narcos or Sicario. ”A tough and uncompromising debut – you’ll be glad you read it.” – Lee Child

Mystery Book of the Month – April 2020

A Few Right Thinking Men by Sulari Gentill is the first Rowland Sinclair mystery. Australia, early 1930s. A great Depression is engulfing the world, spawning misery and discontent. Tensions are mounting as the Far Right makes inroads which threaten national stability. Shortlisted for Commonwealth Writers Prize. ”A sparkling crime series... Evelyn Waugh meets Agatha Christie...” – The Age  

Noir Book of the Month – March 2020

In Mercy River, Hamilton successfully integrates a whodunit plot into an action-packed thriller peopled with fully realized characters.

Mystery Book of the Month – February 2020

A stifling, atmospheric gothic crime novel with a unique protagonist and killer twist. This is top-notch historical crime fiction, with a dash of the supernatural.

Mystery Book of the Month – January 2020

The book beautifully evokes the character and spirit of Shetland and the people who sail around the sometimes treacherous coast of Scotland. And last but not least it’s an intriguing mystery: a whodunit (which is also a ”howdunit”) that keeps the reader engaged throughout.

Mystery Book of the Month – December 2019

Christmastime in the south of France is as beautiful as ever, but when a shady local businessman drops dead in the middle of the festivities, Antoine Verlaque, magistrate of Aix-en-Provence, and his wife Marine Bonnet must solve the case while keeping the holiday spirit alive. A typical Longworth cassoulet of good food, fine wine, and murder.

Noir Book of the Month – November 2019

Mexico City’s Cult Noir Classic! ”The best f***ing novel ever written about Mexico City” – Francisco Goldman

Mystery Book of the Month – October 2019

London, 1952. Dick Bourton is not like the other probationer policemen in Notting Hill. He fought in Europe and then Korea, and has now brought his exotically beautiful Russian fiancee back to drab streets and empty bombsites. The new copper also has a mind of his own.

Mystery Book of the Month – September 2019

November, 1957. Six teenage girls walk in the Derbyshire mists, the first chills of winter in the air. They follow the old train tracksinto the dark tunnel of the Cutting. Only five reappear on the other side. An irresistible autumnal mystery helmed by a complex heroine, perfect for fans of Val McDermid.      

Noir Book of the Month – August 2019

Winner Edgar Award 2019 for Best First Novel by American author!  Bearskin is visceral, raw, and compelling—filled with sights, smells, and sounds truly observed. James McLaughlin expertly brings the beauty and danger of Appalachia to life. The result is an elemental, slow burn of a novel—one that will haunt you long after you turn the final page.  

Developed in cooperation with:

Multimediaambassaden, Mats Rytther