Book of the month

Modern Fiction Book of the Month – April 2021

Scabby Queen is a portrait of a woman who refuses to compromise, and a picture of a country that does nothing but. It’s about the silencing of women’s voices, about the destructive power of the celebrity machine, but most of all it is about empathy: its motives, its limits and the way it endlessly transformed. *Recommended by Jan*

Modern Fiction Book of the Month – March 2021

”Such A Fun Age is a gripping page-turner with serious things to say about racism, class, gender, parenting, and privilege in modern America. Reid is a sharp and delightful storyteller, with a keen eye, buoyant prose, and twists that made me gasp out loud.” – Madeline Miller, author of Circe. * Longlisted for the 2020 Booker Prize.

Modern Fiction Book of the Month – February 2021

The Illness Lesson is a brilliant, suspenseful, beautifully-executed psychological thriller. With power, subtlety, and keen intelligence, Clare Beams has somehow crafted a tale that feels like both classical ghost story and like a modern (and very timely) scream of female outrage. I stayed up all night to finish reading it, and I can still feel its impact thrumming through my mind and body. A masterpiece”. ― Elizabeth Gilbert

Modern Fiction Book of the Month – January 2021

Grace unexpectedly inherits a strange house and is also confronted with a sister she had never known, upon returning to Pondicherry, India. The alternating chaos and tenderness brought about by these new elements in her life are captured in this funny and surprising novel set to appeal to readers of Kiran Desai and Hanif Kureishi. Shortlisted for the Ondaatje Prize 2020.

Modern Fiction Book of the Month – December 2020

PRAGUE, 1938: Eva flies down the street. A man steps out suddenly. PRAGUE, 1980: No one sees Ludek. A young boy can slip right under the heavy blanket that covers this city - the fear cannot touch him. Ludek is free.  MELBOURNE, 1980: Mala Liska’s grandma holds her hand as they climb the stairs to their third floor flat and a life imbued with the spirit of Prague and the loved ones left behind. Because there is still love. No matter what. Australian Indie Book Award Winner 2020. * Discuss this book in the online reading group, read more www.bookshop.se/readinggroups *  

Modern Fiction Book of the Month – November 2020

”I don't just want to be having any kind voice... I want a louding voice.” Adunni is a 14-year-old girl who lives in a small Nigerian town, illegally married off to raise money for her father. Despite her hardships, Adunni is determined to become a success. And one day, someone hears her. ”The most uplifting debut of 2020” – New York Times.

Modern Fiction Book of the Month – October 2020

Warm, wise and laugh-out-loud funny, This Green and Pleasant Land is a life-affirming look at love, faith and the meaning of home. ”A modern comedy of manners ... Malik’s great gift is to present seemingly insoluble issues of faith and intolerance in a light, accessible manner” – Guardian

Modern Fiction Book of the Month – September 2020

A fierce and fresh debut novel, set over the course of two decades in Nigeria, about sisterhood, fate and female resistance. 

Modern Fiction Book of the Month – August 2020

One August afternoon, two sisters go missing from a beach on the far-flung Kamchatka Peninsula in northeastern Russia. Taking us through the year that follows, Disappearing Earth enters the lives of women and girls in this tightly knit community who are connected by the crime: a witness, a neighbour, a detective, a mother. NYT 10 Best Books of the Year, and National Book Award finalist.

Modern Fiction Book of the Month – July 2020

The story of the Trojan War is given from an all-female perspective, providing the slant of the long-silenced women, goddesses and girls at the centre of the action. Shortlisted for the 2020 Women’s Prize for Fiction. 

Developed in cooperation with:

Multimediaambassaden, Mats Rytther