Book of the month

Book of the month

Mystery Book of the Month – September 2019

November, 1957. Six teenage girls walk in the Derbyshire mists, the first chills of winter in the air. They follow the old train tracksinto the dark tunnel of the Cutting. Only five reappear on the other side. An irresistible autumnal mystery helmed by a complex heroine, perfect for fans of Val McDermid.      

General Fiction Book of the Month – September 2019

Longlisted for the Booker Prize 2019. Thrilling and heartbreaking, The Wall is about a troubled world you will recognise as your own – and about what might be found when all is lost. A 1984 for our times.    

Noir Book of the Month – August 2019

Winner Edgar Award 2019 for Best First Novel by American author!  Bearskin is visceral, raw, and compelling—filled with sights, smells, and sounds truly observed. James McLaughlin expertly brings the beauty and danger of Appalachia to life. The result is an elemental, slow burn of a novel—one that will haunt you long after you turn the final page.  

General Fiction Book of the Month – August 2019

Woman. Witch. Myth. Mortal. Outcast. Lover. Destroyer. Survivor. CIRCE.  Shortlisted for the Women's Prize for Fiction 2019    

Mystery Book of the Month – July 2019

No good can come from bad blood. Combining various genres from murder mystery to non-fiction exposé, Galbraith offers real insights into an event that's been branded as the worst scandal in the history of the NHS.

General Fiction Book of the Month – July 2019

Sometimes getting it wrong is the only way to get it right... A fresh, funny and life-affirming debut novel about finding things where you least expect them.

Mystery Book of the Month – June 2019

A mystery set in Sussex in 1964 with a definite Rear Window (Hitchcock) feel to it. Is there a murderer across the street? Who’s innocent, and who’s not…

General Fiction Book of the Month – June 2019

A feminist Iliad, shortlisted for the Women's Prize for Fiction 2019. ”This is a story about the very real cost of wars waged by men... Barker makes us re-think history” – Independent

Noir Book of the Month – May 2019

Black Water is set in the world of the Dublin gangs – the area of Dublin O’Keeffe has lived for many years which tourists are told to avoid – the streets alongside Dublin’s grand canal. Cormac O’Keeffe is the award-winning security correspondent for the Irish Examiner – work that has given him unique access to contacts in the police and the community. He has lived near Dublin’s Grand Canal for many years; his professional and personal lives inform and fuel this novel, giving it the intensity, authenticity and originality of personal experience. 

General Fiction Book of the Month – May 2019

Set in London to an exhilarating soundtrack, Ordinary People is an intimate study of identity and parenthood, sex and grief, friendship and ageing, and the fragile architecture of love. Shortlisted for The Women's Prize for Fiction 2019. ”An exuberant investigation into midlife malaise explores love, compromise and the way we live today” – The Guardian
Syndicate content

Developed in cooperation with:

Multimediaambassaden, Mats Rytther