Book of the month

Book of the month

Noir Book of the Month – February 2021

Alaska, 1935: Slippery Wilson is on his way out of town when he runs into a woman, her neice, and a crashed car. His life is about to get a lot more complicated…

Modern Fiction Book of the Month – February 2021

The Illness Lesson is a brilliant, suspenseful, beautifully-executed psychological thriller. With power, subtlety, and keen intelligence, Clare Beams has somehow crafted a tale that feels like both classical ghost story and like a modern (and very timely) scream of female outrage. I stayed up all night to finish reading it, and I can still feel its impact thrumming through my mind and body. A masterpiece”. ― Elizabeth Gilbert

Mystery Book of the Month – January 2021

The rare book world is stunned when a reclusive collector, Adam Diehl, is found on the floor of his Montauk home: hands severed, surrounded by valuable inscribed books and original manuscripts that have been vandalised beyond repair... Bradford Morrow reveals the passion that drives collectors to the razor-sharp edge of morality, brilliantly confronting the hubris and mortal danger of rewriting history with a fraudulent pen.

Modern Fiction Book of the Month – January 2021

Grace unexpectedly inherits a strange house and is also confronted with a sister she had never known, upon returning to Pondicherry, India. The alternating chaos and tenderness brought about by these new elements in her life are captured in this funny and surprising novel set to appeal to readers of Kiran Desai and Hanif Kureishi. Shortlisted for the Ondaatje Prize 2020.

Modern Fiction Book of the Month – December 2020

PRAGUE, 1938: Eva flies down the street. A man steps out suddenly. PRAGUE, 1980: No one sees Ludek. A young boy can slip right under the heavy blanket that covers this city - the fear cannot touch him. Ludek is free.  MELBOURNE, 1980: Mala Liska’s grandma holds her hand as they climb the stairs to their third floor flat and a life imbued with the spirit of Prague and the loved ones left behind. Because there is still love. No matter what. Australian Indie Book Award Winner 2020. * Discuss this book in the online reading group, read more www.bookshop.se/readinggroups *  

Noir Book of the Month – December 2020

In this thrilling debut, Heidi Kick – the first female sheriff in rural Bad Axe County, Wisconsin – searches for a missing girl, battles local drug dealers, and seeks the truth about the death of her parents twenty years ago – all as a winter storm rages in her embattled community. * Discuss this book in the online Crime reading group! See www.bookshop.se/readinggroups *

Mystery Book of the Month – November 2020

Yorkshire, 1845. Dark rumours are spreading across the moors. Everything indicates that Mrs Elizabeth Chester of Chester Grange has been brutally murdered in her home – but nobody can find her body. As the dark murmurs reach Emily, Anne and Charlotte Brontë, the sisters are horrified, yet intrigued. The Brontë sisters are ready to investigate…

Modern Fiction Book of the Month – November 2020

”I don't just want to be having any kind voice... I want a louding voice.” Adunni is a 14-year-old girl who lives in a small Nigerian town, illegally married off to raise money for her father. Despite her hardships, Adunni is determined to become a success. And one day, someone hears her. ”The most uplifting debut of 2020” – New York Times.

Modern Fiction Book of the Month – October 2020

Warm, wise and laugh-out-loud funny, This Green and Pleasant Land is a life-affirming look at love, faith and the meaning of home. ”A modern comedy of manners ... Malik’s great gift is to present seemingly insoluble issues of faith and intolerance in a light, accessible manner” – Guardian

Mystery Book of the Month – October 2020

With a ruthless criminal loose on the Suffolk coast, life is anything but peaceful for the Anglian Detective Agency… Vera Morris returns with a new instalment in her much-loved Anglian Detective Agency Series. Set on the ever-changing Suffolk coast, an area Vera loves and knows well.
Syndicate content

Developed in cooperation with:

Multimediaambassaden, Mats Rytther