Book of the month

Book of the month

Mystery Book of the Month – January 2020

The book beautifully evokes the character and spirit of Shetland and the people who sail around the sometimes treacherous coast of Scotland. And last but not least it’s an intriguing mystery: a whodunit (which is also a ”howdunit”) that keeps the reader engaged throughout.

General Fiction Book of the Month – January 2020

Everyone knows Daisy Jones and The Six. Their albums were on every turntable, they sold out arenas from coast to coast, their sound defined an era. And then, on 12 July 1979, the split. Nobody ever knew why. Until now.

Mystery Book of the Month – December 2019

Christmastime in the south of France is as beautiful as ever, but when a shady local businessman drops dead in the middle of the festivities, Antoine Verlaque, magistrate of Aix-en-Provence, and his wife Marine Bonnet must solve the case while keeping the holiday spirit alive. A typical Longworth cassoulet of good food, fine wine, and murder.

General Fiction Book of the Month – December 2019

A painfully beautiful first novel that is at once a murder mystery, a coming-of-age narrative and a celebration of nature … Owens here surveys the desolate marshlands of the North Carolina coast through the eyes of an abandoned child. And in her isolation that child makes us open our own eyes to the secret wonders-and dangers-of her private world.

Noir Book of the Month – November 2019

Mexico City’s Cult Noir Classic! ”The best f***ing novel ever written about Mexico City” – Francisco Goldman

General Fiction Book of the Month – November 2019

A wise, sensitive novel about Russia, exile, family, love, history and fate, this work asks what people owe the place they were born, and in return, what it owes them.

Mystery Book of the Month – October 2019

London, 1952. Dick Bourton is not like the other probationer policemen in Notting Hill. He fought in Europe and then Korea, and has now brought his exotically beautiful Russian fiancee back to drab streets and empty bombsites. The new copper also has a mind of his own.

General Fiction Book of the Month – October 2019

The great, forgotten anti-Nazi book everyone must read. First published in 1938, US author Kathrine Kressmann Taylor’s forgotten classic is a devastating work of political fiction that still resonates today.

Mystery Book of the Month – September 2019

November, 1957. Six teenage girls walk in the Derbyshire mists, the first chills of winter in the air. They follow the old train tracksinto the dark tunnel of the Cutting. Only five reappear on the other side. An irresistible autumnal mystery helmed by a complex heroine, perfect for fans of Val McDermid.      

General Fiction Book of the Month – September 2019

Longlisted for the Booker Prize 2019. Thrilling and heartbreaking, The Wall is about a troubled world you will recognise as your own – and about what might be found when all is lost. A 1984 for our times.    
Syndicate content

Developed in cooperation with:

Multimediaambassaden, Mats Rytther