Nahal Ghanbari's picture

Nahal Ghanbari

Guest Blogger

Nahal Ghanbari studies children's and youth literature, and spends a lot of time reading fiction or watching TV-series, preferably of the fantastic kind. She resides in Uppsala and likes to be opinionated. You can also find her at www.owlandpussycat.se

Release: 99 Americanisms that Captured the World

Release 99 Americanisms that Captured the World

STOCKHOLM | Thursday 16th Nov at 18:00

”…two countries divided by a common language”

Join us and the Swedish-British Society in the Stockholm shop for the release of 99 Americanisms that Captured the World – the latest book by the President of the Swedish-British Society, Professor Wilhelm Engström, and his co-author Dr Fergal Donnelly

The authors will expand on ”…two countries divided by a common language”, a bon mot normally attributed to Oscar Wilde. It sounds innocuous enough to our ears, as do ’reliable’, ’influential’ and ’lengthy’, which all inspired loathing when they first crossed the Atlantic. 

Understanding the game of linguistic and cultural differences can make the course of business run more smoothly, but even if we learn each other’s language there is still a natural barrier that keeps our two worlds apart. 

Find out more at the book release event on November 16th.
Snacks and refreshments will be served. Free event.

» Feel free to share and RSVP to this facebook event

Girls’ Night in the bookshop

Girls’ Night in the city and the bookshop

UPPSALA | Thursday 9th Nov all night 19–21

Girls’ Night in Uppsala City. We’re open 19–21. Book recommendations by Else & Shirin. Get personal reading recommendations & great tips for Christmas. Win a gift certificate! A cosy night, with snacks & refreshments.
. .
Tjejkväll i Uppsala city torsdag 9 nov 19–21. På The English Bookshop har vi ”Boktipsarkväll med Else & Shirin”: Få personliga rekommendationer och perfekta julklappstips. Vinn presentkort! Mys, snacks & förfriskningar. Extraöppet hela tjejkvällen 19–21.

Books of the Month for November 2017

Discover the Books of the Month for November – there’s something for everyone!

Books of the Month – Fiction- Classics - Short Stories

MODERN FICTION
Selection Day – Aravind Adiga

A moving and beautifully observed novel, of adolescence, ambition and self-realization, of fathers and sons, set in contemporary Bombay, by the Man Booker Prize winning author of The White Tiger and Last Man in Tower.

Merlin - the man, the myth, the legend. Book launch

Book launch The Wrathful Traveller – Rhuddem Gwelin

STOCKHOLM | Thursday 9th Nov at 18:30

Welcome to the launch of Rhuddem Gwelin’s latest book The Wrathful Traveller – the Merlin Chronicles Volume 2.

The evening will begin with some reflections by the author on the role the legendary Merlin has played in the historical battle between magic and the ever-more powerful church. She will then read excerpts from the novel to show how Merlin is cast into the madness of the Crusades.

Why Shakespeare? Talk with Ruby Jand


Why Shakespeare? Talk with Ruby Jand

UPPSALA | Tuesday 7th Nov at 19:00

WHY SHAKESPEARE? Shakespeare Calling with Ruby Jand

Who is Hamlet? Is Lady Macbeth really evil? Can Caliban really be a twitchy speeded Goth freak? Why are Shakespeare’s characters so interesting to us even today – 400 years after his death?

Author visit: Brian Kimberling – Snapper

Meet Brian Kimberling

STOCKHOLM | Thursday 19th October at 18:30

A birdwatcher’s guide to the human heart – an unconventional coming of age story from an unforgettable new voice that will appeal to fans of David Vann and Annie Proulx.

With wry humour and real freshness, Snapper charts the disastrous love affair between career birdwatcher Nathan Lochmueller and the place that made him.

Brian Kimberling grew up in Evansville, Indiana, and graduated from Indiana University. As a student he was involved in a major study of songbirds, an experience central to his first novel, Snapper. Subsequently he taught English in the Czech Republic, Mexico, and Turkey. He now lives in England.

Meet Brian in the Stockholm shop on Thursday 19th October at 18:30
Tickets 30:-. Get your ticket today!

Books of the Month for October 2017

Discover the Books of the Month for October – there’s something for everyone!

Modern Fiction – Classics – Short Stories

MODERN FICTION
Transit – Rachel Cusk
In the wake of family collapse, a writer and her two young sons move to London. The process of upheaval is the catalyst for a number of transitions – personal, moral, artistic, practical – as she endeavours to construct a new reality for herself and her children.

”Page-turningly enthralling and charged with the power to move” – Guardian
» Paperback 150:-


CLASSICS
The Whisperer in Darkness and other tales – H.P. Lovecraft
The most important US horror writer since Edgar Allan Poe and a big influence on nearly every major figure in the genre after his day.
» Paperback 130:-

SHORT STORIES
Rotten Row – Petina Gappah
It is just after nine o’clock in the morning. Gidza will die in exactly forty-three minutes and thirteen seconds.

’Rotten Row’ is the Criminal Division of Harare, and the courts and the unfortunates who pass through them are the subjects of this mesmerising collection of stories.

”Does for Harare now what Dickens did for Victorian London, with lethal comic relish and rage” – Observer
» Paperback 150:-

British Mystery – Tough Crime

BRITISH MYSTERY
Death in Profile – Guy Fraser-Sampson
The genteel façade of London’s Hampstead is shattered by a series of terrifying murders, and the ensuing police hunt is threatened by internal politics, and a burgeoning love triangle within the investigative team. Pressurised by senior officers desperate for a result a new initiative is clearly needed, but what?

Praised by fellow authors and readers alike, this is a truly original crime story, speaking to a contemporary audience yet harking back to the Golden Age of detective fiction. Intelligent, quirky and mannered, it has been described as ’a love letter to the detective novel’.
» Paperback 130:-


TOUGH CRIME
Dr. Knox – Peter Spiegelman
Dr Adam Knox returns from the war in Afghanistan a little rougher, a little wiser, and a lot more inclined to kick it to the ones at the top. The ones in charge...

”Dr Knox portrays an all-new Los Angeles, rendered in a wild, all-new style. It's a crackerjack crime novel; everything pop-pop-pops and lures you deeper and deeper into Peter Spiegelman's luminous vision. It's a thrilling book” – James Ellroy
» Paperback 150:-

Sci-Fi – Fantasy – Urban Fantasy

SCIENCE FICTION
Cold Welcome (Vatta's Peace #1) – Elizabeth Moon
Admiral Ky Vatta should return to her childhood home a war hero, but on the way her shuttle is downed by sabotage.

Marooned in a hostile landscape it'll take every bit of wit, skill and luck she can muster to lead her fellow survivors to safety, knowing that the mysterious enemies who destroyed the ship are on the hunt, and may have an agent in the group ready to finish the job at any moment. And was the sabotage an attempt on Ky's own life, or someone else's?

Nebula-Award-winner Elizabeth Moon triumphantly returns to science fiction with this space opera adventure, perfect for fans of Lois McMaster Bujold, James S. A. Corey and Star Wars.
» Paperback 150:-


FANTASY
Roses and Rot – Kat Howard
Imogen and her sister Marin escape their cruel mother to attend a prestigious artists’ retreat, but soon learn that living in a fairy tale requires sacrifices, whether it be art or love in this critically acclaimed debut novel from ”a remarkable young writer” (Neil Gaiman, American Gods).

What would you sacrifice for everything you ever dreamed of?

» Paperback 175:-


URBAN FANTASY
Strange Magic: An Essex Witch Museum Mystery – Syd Moore

Rosie Strange doesn’t believe in ghosts or witches or magic. No, not at all. It’s no surprise therefore when she inherits the ramshackle Essex Witch Museum, her first thought is to take the money and run.
Still, the museum exerts a curious pull over Rosie.

‘Confident, down-to-earth Essex girl Rosie is an appealing character, and there is plenty of spooky fun in this spirited genre mashup.’ – Guardian

» Paperback 150:-

Teen / Young Adult – Non-Fiction (Biographies)

TEEN / YOUNG ADULT
Never Say Sometimes – Adi Alsaid
Never date your best friend.
Always be original.
Sometimes rules are meant to be broken…

Best friends Dave and Julia were determined to never be clichés so they even wrote their own Never List of everything they vowed they’d never, ever do in high school.
» Paperback 130:-


NON-FICTION (Biographies)
Born a Crime: Stories from a South African Childhood – Trevor Noah
The compelling, inspiring, (often comic) coming-of-age story of Trevor Noah, set during the twilight of apartheid and the tumultuous days of freedom that followed.

One of the comedy world’s brightest new voices, Trevor Noah is a light-footed but sharp-minded observer of the absurdities of politics, race and identity, sharing jokes and insights drawn from the wealth of experience acquired in his relatively young life.

» Paperback 150:-

Discover the poetry of Emily Dickinson

The Poets light but Lamps - Ann-Marie Vinde

STOCKHOLM | Thursday 12th October at 18:30

The Poets light but Lamps
New poems in Swedish by Emily Dickinson (1830-1886)
 
Only a limited number of Dickinson’s poems were known to her contemporaries. Today she has long been recognized as one of America’s greatest poets.
 
”Poeter tänder bara lampor/The Poets light but Lamps” is Ann-Marie Vinde’s second collection of translations of Dickinson poems. Like her first one, ”Min flod flyter mot dig/My River runs to thee”, it is bilingual and annotated.
 
Ms Vinde will read from her new volume and provide some background.
 
Thursday 12th October at 18:30
Tickets 30:-. Get your ticket today at the Stockholm bookshop!

Release of the new John Green book!

Release of the new John Green book

UPPSALA & STOCKHOLM | Tuesday 10th Oct at 07:01

To celebrate the new John Green book, the first book from the brilliant author since The Fault in our Stars, we're hosting a EARLY MORNING RELEASE of his new novel Turtles All the Way Down! (We have to stick to American midnight...)

You can pre-book your copy at the shop to make you are one of the first to get your hands on a book.

The doors open at 7 am, and if you are the very first (or one of the first) to buy your book, we promise to add a little extra something! The early bird catches the worm, you know. ;-)

Author reading: The Summer Guest – Alison Anderson

Author reading: The Summer Guest – Alison Anderson

STOCKHOLM | Thursday 5th October at 18:30

What if Anton Chekhov, undisputed master of the short story, actually wrote a novel – and the manuscript still existed? 

Introducing: The Summer Guest by Alison Anderson. This tantalizing possibility drives The Summer Guest, a spellbinding narrative that draws together, across two centuries, the lives of three women through the discovery of a diary. 

Welcome! Free.

Developed in cooperation with:

Multimediaambassaden, Mats Rytther