News

What’s up?

in

Check out our upcoming events in the events calendar: www.bookshop.se/events

Find your summer reading in Books of the Month for July

in

Summertime is indeed reading time. If you need to restock your reading pile, we’ll be open every day all summer to help you find your next book.

In fact, we have quite a few great reads in this month’s Books of the Month-pick. Check out the list below, and then check them out at the shop :-)

Modern Fiction – Classics – Short stories

MODERN FICTION
The End We Start From – Megan Hunter
A story of new motherhood in a terrifying setting: a familiar world made dangerous and unstable, its people forced to become refugees. Startlingly beautiful, The End We Start From is a gripping novel that paints an imagined future as realistic as it is frightening. And yet, though the country is falling apart around them, this family’s world – of new life and new hope – sings with love. (Film rights sold to Benedict Cumberbatch’s production company!)
Hardback 165:-

CLASSICS
The Man Who Loved Children – Christina Stead
’This crazy, gorgeous family novel is one of the great literary achievements of the twentieth century. I carry it in my head the way I carry childhood memories; the scenes are of such precise horror and comedy that I feel I didn't read the book so much as live it’ – Jonathan Franzen.
Our Classics Summer Read – join the reading group in August!
Paperback 165:-

SHORT STORIES
Multitudes – Lucy Caldwell
Multitudes is the beautiful debut story collection from the acclaimed, prize-winning novelist and playwright Lucy Caldwell.

From Belfast to London and back again the eleven stories explore the many facets of growing up – the pain and the heartache, the tenderness and the joy, the fleeting and the formative – or ’the drunkenness of things being various’. Stories of longing and belonging, they culminate with the heart-wrenching and unforgettable title story.
Paperback 130:-

British Crime – Tough Crime


BRITISH CRIME
The Riviera Express – T P Fielden
Murder on the Riviera Express… 
’TP Fielden is a fabulous new voice and his dignified, clever heroine is a compelling new character. This delicious adventure is the first of a series and I can’t wait for the next one.” – Daily Mail
Paperback 130:-

TOUGH CRIME
The Innocents – Ace Atkins
The extraordinary new novel in the New York Times-bestselling author’s acclaimed series about the real Deep South – ’a joy ride into the heart of darkness’ (Washington Post)
Paperback 150:-

Science-Fiction – Fantasy – Urban Fantasy

SCIENCE FICTION
United States of Japan – Peter Tieryas
Decades ago, Japan won the Second World War. Americans worship their infallible Emperor, and nobody believes that Japan’s conduct in the war was anything but exemplary. Nobody, that is, except the George Washingtons – a shadowy group of rebels fighting for freedom. 

United States of Japan is a powerful book, unsettling at times surreal and hypnotic. There s a bit of Philip K. Dick in here, and Wind-Up Bird Chronicle, but Peter Tieryas is his own voice, a talented author, somebody to keep an eye on for sure.
Paperback 150:-

FANTASY
Queen of Blood – Sarah Beth Durst
Everything has a spirit: the willow tree with leaves that kiss the pond, the stream that feeds the river, the wind that exhales fresh snow… But the spirits that reside within this land want to rid it of all humans.

”Mythopoeic Award-winner Durst (Chasing Power) launches her Queens of Renthia series with a stellar and imaginative tale...In addition to a solid cast of characters and great political intrigue, Durst delivers some fascinating worldbuilding, and the spirits are malevolent, cunning, wild, and mysterious antagonists.” (Publishers Weekly)
Paperback 99:-

URBAN FANTASY/PARANORMAL
Poison City – Paul Crilley
’A sarcastic, demon-fighting cop with magic dragon tattoos and an alcoholic talking dog as a sidekick... Poison City is everything you never knew you wanted in a book.” – Krysten Ritter
Paperback 150:-

Teen/Young Adult – Non-Fiction (Biographies)

TEEN/YOUNG ADULT
One of Us is Lying – Karen McManus
One of Us Is Lying is the story of what happens when five strangers walk into detention and only four walk out alive. Everyone is a suspect, and everyone has something to hide. For fans of Gossip Girl and Pretty Little Liars, this is the perfect high school thriller.
Paperback 130:-

NON-FICTION (Biography)
A Life Discarded: 148 Diaries Found in a Skip –  Alexander Masters
Unique, transgressive and as funny as its subject, A Life Discarded has all the suspense of a murder mystery. Written with his characteristic warmth, respect and humour, Masters asks you to join him in celebrating an unknown and important life left on the scrap heap.

A Life Discarded is a biographical detective story. In 2001, 148 tattered and mould-covered notebooks were discovered lying among broken bricks in a skip on a building site in Cambridge. Tens of thousands of pages were filled to the edges with urgent handwriting

‘If Masters investigations feel like a Paul Auster detective story, there are also traces of Alan Bennet and Barbara Pym seeping through the Cambridge hedges … It’s not life affirming – Masters isn’t slick or pompous enough for that – but life-probing, pushing at the boundaries of empathy and understanding.’ – The Sunday Times
Paperback 150:-

Smiley is back in September

in

Cover A Legacy of Spies – John le CarréCOVER REVEAL | Release in September

We are delighted to reveal the cover for A Legacy of Spies, the new novel from global bestselling author John le Carré. Release date: September 7th. Put in your pre-order today! (Hardback and trade paperback)

Meet Johan Theorin and discover the four (deadly) seasons of Öland

Nordic Noir Talks – Johan Theorin

STOCKHOLM | Thursday 6th July at 18:30

The Öland Quartet – dark mystery novels with some supernatural overtones, which mainly take place on the Swedish island of Öland; a small island in the Baltic Sea and a sunny and popular place for tourists to visit in the summer. In the winter however, the island is dark and cold and very few people live there.

The quartet covers the four seasons on the island. The stand-alone psychological thriller The Asylum takes place on the Swedish west coast.

Meet Johan Theorin at the Nordic Noir Talk in the Stockholm shop. Tickets 60:- (incl. refreshments) available at the Stockholm shop or online at www.billetto.se/nordic-noir-theorin

Titles by Johan Theorin

Happy Midsummer!

in

Happy Midsummer

UPPSALA & STOCKHOLM

Happy midsummer weekend to all of you! We at the bookshop will be taking a few days off to read some long-anticipated books – but we’ll be back again after the Midsummer festivities.

After the weekend, we’ll be open 7 days a week all summer! So no need for you to suffer from a lack of page turners, isn’t that great?

As always, feel free to ask us for our best recommendations! Our motto is ”the right book, in the right hand, at the right time” – and we have more than ten thousand books to choose from right now.

Sweet Midsummer Night’s Dreams to all of you!
the festive bookshop crew in Uppsala and Stockholm

UPPSALA Shop Hours:
Friday: Closed • Saturday: Closed • Sunday: OPEN 12–15

STOCKHOLM Shop Hours:
Friday–Sunday: Closed

Nordic Noir Talk: Meet Anita Shenoi & Gabriella Ullberg Westin

Nordic Noir Talks: Anita Shenoi & Gabriella Ullberg Westin

STOCKHOLM | Thursday 15th June at 18:30

Sweden – a haven of tranquility and benevolence or a cesspit of corruption and dastardly deeds? One thing’s for sure: it has captured the imagination of crime fiction enthusiasts around the world. From the pretty little coastal villages in the south to the wide open expanses of the north, Sweden has become the setting for some of the most intriguing crime writing in modern time.

Prepare for a spine-chilling adventure as we investigate the famous people and places that have made Sweden a crime fiction wonderland together with Anita Shenoi (author of several books on Sweden) and Gabriella Ullberg Westin (author of the Swedish crime series Murders in Hudiksvall).

Advance tickets 60:- (incl. refreshments) are available at the bookshop or online from www.billetto.se/nordic-noir-sweden

Limited seating – get your ticket today.

Release Party: Parallel Lines – Steven Savile

Release Party: Parallel Lines – Steven Savile

UPPSALA | Monday 12th June at 19:00

Release Party & Author Interview

Steven Savile (author of our Tough Crime Book of the Month) and James van Loon in a literary conversation about Savile’s new book Parallel Lines. Feel free to join in and ask your own questions!

Release Party for Parallel Lines. Author reading, signing and mingling. Welcome to join the party!

Author signing: Ann Leckie, Kameron Hurley, Katherine Arden

Sci-Fi Fantasy Author Signing

UPPSALA | Friday 26th May at 16:00

We are proud to welcome authors from Kontur 2017, this year’s national SF and Fantasy convention that is held in Uppsala!

Meet and greet and get your books signed by:
Ann Leckie, author of the Hugo, Nebula, and Arthur C. Clarke Award-winning series Imperial Radch.
Kameron Hurley, author of The Stars are Legion, The Geek Feminist Revolution, and many more.
Katherine Arden, author of The Bear and the Nightingale.

Shop Hours for Ascension Day

in

Shop Hours Ascension Day

Thursday 25th May (Ascension Day) they shops are open like on a Sunday: 
Uppsala 12–15
Stockholm 12–16

Welcome in to stock up on Summer reading!

Nordic Noir Talk: Meet Viveca Sten


Meet Viveca Sten – Nordic Noir Talks

STOCKHOLM | Tuesday 30th may at 18:30

The Sandhamn Murders series makes us wonder: What secrets can an idyllic island hide…

The enormously popular series by Viveca Sten has been made into a successful TV miniseries that has been broadcast around the world and more than 4 million copies of her books have been sold. The third book in the series, Guiltless, is to be published just before the talk.

Meet Viveca on Tuesday 30th May at 18:30 in the Stockholm shop on Södermannagatan 22.

Advance tickets (60:- incl. refreshments) are available online at www.billetto.se/nordic-noir-sten or at the Stockholm bookshop

Visit Viveca Sten's website at www.vivecasten.com

Read all about the Nordic Noir Talk series at www.bookshop.se/nordicnoir
Next up in the series are Anita Shenoi & Gabriella Ullberg Westin on June 15th.

The Sandhamn Murders in English

Syndicate content

Developed in cooperation with:

Multimediaambassaden, Mats Rytther