Book of the month

Book of the month

British Crime Book of the month – January

Vaseem Khan – The Unexpected Inheritance of Inspector Chopra is our british crime book of the month for January. Mumbai, murder and a baby elephant combine in a charming, joyful mystery for fans of Alexander McCall Smith and Rachel Joyce. On the day he retires, Inspector Ashwin Chopra discovers that he has inherited an elephant: an unlikely gift that could not be more inconvenient. For Chopra has one last case to solve… But as his murder investigation leads him across Mumbai – from its richest mansions to its murky underworld - he quickly discovers that a baby elephant may be exactly what an honest man needs.

Book of the month for January

Marlon James – A Brief History of Seven Killings is our book of the month for January. Winner of the 2015 Man Booker Prize for Fiction. JAMAICA, 1976Seven gunmen storm Bob Marley’s house, machine guns blazing. The reggae superstar survives, but the gunmen are never caught.

Book of the month for December

Lily King – Euphoria is our book of the month for December. Finalist for the National Book Critics Circle Award 2014 and winner of the 2014 New England Book Award for Fiction."Euphoria" is Lily King's breakout novel of three young, gifted anthropologists of the '30's caught in a passionate love triangle that threatens their bonds, their careers, and, ultimately, their lives. Inspired by events in the life of revolutionary anthropologist Margaret Mead.

British Crime Book of the month – December

Karen Perry – Only We Know is our british crime book of the month for December. Only We Know is the captivating new novel from Karen Perry, packed full of secrets and suspense. In 1982, on a once-in-a-lifetime holiday beneath the stifling heat of the midday sun, three children start a game that ends in tragedy. Now, thirty years later, Nick, Luke and Katie are estranged, yet still bound together by the dark truth of what happened at the river that day.

British Crime Book of the month – November

Denzil Meyrick – Whisky from Small Glasses (A D.C.I. Daley Thriller) is our british crime book of the month for November. DCI Jim Daley is sent from the city to investigate a murder after the body of a woman is washed up on an idyllic beach on the West Coast of Scotland. Far away from urban resources, he finds himself a stranger in a close-knit community. Love, betrayal, fear and death stalk the small town, as Daley investigates a case that becomes more deadly than he could possibly imagine, in this compelling Scottish crime novel infused with intrigue and dark humour.

Book of the month for November

Helen Oyeyemi – Boy, Snow, Bird is our book of the month for November. A retelling of the Snow White myth, Boy, Snow, Bird is a deeply moving novel about three women and an unbreakable bond.

Book of the month for October

Patrick Gale – A Place Called Winter is our book of the month for October. Beginning in the 1900s, based on a true story in Patrick Gale's own family history. Shy gentleman of leisure Harry Cane is drawn into marrying Winnie, and ends up having to forsake the land and people he loves for a harsh new life in Canada.

British Crime Book of the month – October

Anthony Quinn – Curtain Call is our british crime book of the month for October. On a sultry afternoon in the summer of 1936 a woman accidentally interrupts an attempted murder in a London hotel room. Nina Land, a West End actress, faces a dilemma, she's not supposed to be at the hotel in the first place, and certainly not with a married man.

British Crime Book of the month – September

Calcutta, 1837. Young Ensign William Avery is tasked by his employers - the East India Company - to track down disgraced agent Xavier Mountstuart, lost to the jungle. Forced to take with him dissolute, disillusioned, errant genius ex-officer Jeremiah Blake, Avery is sure their mission is doomed.

Book of the month for September

Essbaum. Anna was a good wife, mostly …Anna Benz lives in comfort and affluence with her husband and three young children in Dietlikon, a picture-perfect suburb of Zurich. Anna, an American expat, has chosen this life far from home; but, despite its tranquility and order, inside she is falling apart.
Syndicate content

Developed in cooperation with:

Multimediaambassaden, Mats Rytther