News

Release of the new John Green book!

Release of the new John Green book

UPPSALA & STOCKHOLM | Tuesday 10th Oct at 07:01

To celebrate the new John Green book, the first book from the brilliant author since The Fault in our Stars, we're hosting a EARLY MORNING RELEASE of his new novel Turtles All the Way Down! (We have to stick to American midnight...)

You can pre-book your copy at the shop to make you are one of the first to get your hands on a book.

The doors open at 7 am, and if you are the very first (or one of the first) to buy your book, we promise to add a little extra something! The early bird catches the worm, you know. ;-)

Author reading: The Summer Guest – Alison Anderson

Author reading: The Summer Guest – Alison Anderson

STOCKHOLM | Thursday 5th October at 18:30

What if Anton Chekhov, undisputed master of the short story, actually wrote a novel – and the manuscript still existed? 

Introducing: The Summer Guest by Alison Anderson. This tantalizing possibility drives The Summer Guest, a spellbinding narrative that draws together, across two centuries, the lives of three women through the discovery of a diary. 

Welcome! Free.

Doctor Who Night - Changing of the Doctors

Doctor Who Night - Changing of the Doctors

UPPSALA | Thursday 5th October at 19:00

The Doctor Who-expert Kristina Rudbjer will talk about the changing of the Doctors: regenerations and reactions. Prize for best costume! Dress up as your ­favourite character – or monster! Fabulous prizes to be won.

Tea! Cake! Whovian company!

Tickets 70 kr, sign up today at the bookshop!

Grab your umbrella and leek and let’s get going. Allons-y!

Time That Glitters – Global Poetry Night and Book Release

Time That Glitters – a global poetry night with book release

UPPSALA | Saturday 30th Sept at 18:00 Free

What is happening in contemporary literary exchange between Bangladesh and Sweden?

Together with Litteraturcentrum Uppsala we present four prominent literary talents from different generations:

Books of the Month for September 2017

Discover the Books of the Month for September – there’s something for everyone!

Modern Fiction – Classics – Short stories

MODERN FICTION
Autumn – Ali Smith
Shortlisted for the Man Booker Prize 2017! Autumn. Season of mists and mellow fruitfulness. That's what it felt like for Keats in 1819. How about Autumn 2016?

Daniel is a century old. Elisabeth, born in 1984, has her eye on the future. The United Kingdom is in pieces, divided by a historic once-in-a-generation summer. Love is won, love is lost. Hope is hand in hand with hopelessness. The seasons roll round, as ever.
The first in a seasonal quartet.  
Paperback 150:-

CLASSICS
Kim – Rudyard Kipling 
Kipling’s epic rendition of the imperial experience in India is also his greatest long work. Kim is considered to be one of the first spy novels, and gives a knowledgeable portrait of both India at the time, of the Anglo-Indian relationship and of The Great Game.
Paperback 100:-

SHORT STORIES
How Much the Heart Can Hold: Seven Stories on Love
Love is not a singular concept. In this collection, seven award-winning authors explore seven concepts of love: from Philautia, self-love, to Agape, love for humanity; and from Storge, a natural affection for family, to Mania, a frenzied, obsessive love. Seven authors; seven short stories; seven flashes of love.
Paperback 150:-

British Crime – Tough Crime

BRITISH CRIME
She Be Damned – M.J. Tjia    Longlisted for the CWA Debut Dagger
London, 1863: prostitutes in the Waterloo area are turning up dead, their sexual organs mutilated and removed. When another girl goes missing, fears grow that the killer may have claimed their latest victim. The police are at a loss and so it falls to courtesan and professional detective, Heloise Chancey, to investigate. 
Paperback 150:-

TOUGH CRIME
The Black Country – Kerry Hadley-Pryce
Maddie and Harry: she’s an estate agent, he’s a teacher. They’ll say they live in the Black Country. They’ll say how they met Jonathan Cotard, explain how they later argued, had a car accident, thought they’d killed someone. The Black Country. For Maddie and Harry, it’s darker than it should be.
Paperback 150:-

Science-Fiction – Fantasy – Urban Fantasy

SCIENCE FICTION
All the Birds in the Sky – Charlie Jane Anders
Winner of the 2017 Nebula award!  Finalist for the 2017 Hugo Award Best Novel and Locus Award 2017!

Patricia is a witch who can communicate with animals. Laurence is a mad scientist and inventor of the two-second time machine. As teenagers they gravitate towards one another, sharing in the horrors of growing up weird, but their lives take different paths... When they meet again as adults, Laurence is an engineering genius trying to save the world and live up to his reputation in near-future San Francisco. Meanwhile, Patricia is a graduate of Eltisley Maze, the hidden academy for the magically gifted, working hard to prove herself to her fellow magicians and secretly repair the earth's ever growing ailments. As they attempt to save our future, Laurence and Patricia's shared past pulls them back together.
Paperback 130:-

FANTASY
The House of Shattered Wings – Aliette de Bodard
The House of Shattered Wings is many things. It’s a murder mystery. It’s a post-apocalyptic survival tale. It’s a steel-cold look at protagonists who are antiheroes. It’s a slow-burn Gothic narrative with plenty of tension and a sense of impending doom that retains elegance and poise and never comes crashing down. It is also a story about imperialism, about displacement and belonging, about loyalties and the desperate desire to simply return to your own tribe.
Paperback 150:-

URBAN FANTASY/PARANORMAL
Alice – Christina Henry
Inspired by the wonderous works of Lewis Carroll, this is the tale of Alice, who has been stuck in a mental health hospital for years, although she can’t remember why. All she can remember is a tea party long ago. Long ears and blood. Until one night she escapes, free to uncover the truth about what happened to her. When she escapes, something escapes with her, but the truth she desperately seeks is so much stranger than any madman’s ranting.

Paperback 130:-

Teen/Young Adult – Non-Fiction

TEEN / YOUNG ADULT
This Raging Light – Estelle Laure
A teenage girl falls for her best friend's brother in Estelle Laure’s soulful debut that’s perfect for fans of Gayle Forman, Jandy Nelson, and Rainbow Rowell. A heartbreakingly beautiful book that you'll devour in one sitting, but remember forever. 

Paperback 130:-

NON-FICTION 
Treasure Palaces: Great Writers Visit Great Museums – Maggie Fergusson
A collection of moving, lyrical essays that speak to the enduring power of museums in our cultural life, and will leave you longing to revisit your favourite treasure palace or looking for a new one to explore.

From a stunning villa on sunny Capri with Ali Smith to an unlikely temple in the heart of Copenhagen with Alan Hollinghurst, Treasure Palaces brings together over twenty of the world's greatest writers to give their own personal tours of the museums that have awed, haunted and inspired them.

Paperback 150:-

Meet Christoffer Carlsson – Nordic Noir Talk

Nordic Noir Talk – Christoffer Carlsson

STOCKHOLM | Thursday 14 Sept 18:30

Meet Christoffer Carlsson
and get to know detective Leo Junker and the world of crime

The Leo Junker series – about a young police officer teetering on the edge of the law, crippled by both trauma in the past and bad judgment in the present. Although Leo can’t let go of the crimes he must investigate, his obsession isn’t due to some deep sense of duty; Leo is haunted by the crimes because they in some way seem to be about him.

As a criminologist, Christoffer Carlsson is more interested in the motivations behind the crimes than the crimes themselves. His books are about the why rather than the what. And, most of all, they are about the who.

Recently released: October is the Coldest Month, a young adult mystery.

Tickets 60:- (incl snacka and refreshments) online at www.billetto.se/nordic-noir-carlsson or at the bookshop.

The Leo Junker series and the young adult mystery October is the Coldest Month

Release party: Lagom

Release: Lagom – The Swedish Secret of Living Well

STOCKHOLM | Tuesday 12th Sept at 18:30

Release for ”Lagom: The Swedish Secret of Living Well” by Lola A Åkerström

As the Swedish proverb goes, ‘Lagom är bäst’ (The right amount is best). ”Lagom” sums up the Swedish psyche and is a way of living that promotes harmony. Full of insights and beautiful photographs, this authentic guide will help you make small, simple changes to your everyday life – whether that’s your diet, lifestyle, money, work or your home – so you can have a happier, more ­balanced way of living.

Award-winning writer and photographer Lola (Akinmade) Åkerström has photographed and dispatched from roughly 60 countries for various publications. Read more about her and view her photos at www.akinmade.com

Bring a friend and explore the Swedish concept of ”lagom”!

Celebrate KulturNatten at The English Bookshop

Celebrate Culture Night at the bookshop

UPPSALA | Saturday 9th September

Celebrate KulturNatten at The English Bookshop! All events are free!

11:00–11:30
Storytelling for Children with Hannah

18:00–19:30
Meet award-winning Irish author Lisa McInerney

20:00–21:30
Mattias Boström & Sherlock

Click to read more about the evening events below

Author signing: Lisa McInerney in Stockholm

Signing: Lisa McInerney in Stockholm


STOCKHOLM | Saturday 9th Sept at 13:00

Meet Lisa McInerney! The Irish debut novelist Lisa Mc­Inerney became a major literary figure in the English-speaking world by winning both the prestigious Desmond Elliot award and the Baileys (formerly Orange) Women’s Prize for Fiction in 2016 for her debut novel The Glorious Heresies.

Her latest novel is The Blood Miracles.

(You can also meet Lisa in Uppsala in a KulturNatten event in our Uppsala shop at 18:00 on Sept 9th.)

Author reading: Judith Bourque – Robes of Silk, Feet of Clay

Robes of Silk, Feet of Clay – Judith Bourque

STOCKHOLM | Thursday 7th Sept at 18:30

The true story of a love affair with Maharishi Mahesh Yogi, the Indian Guru. In the book Robes of Silk, Feet of Clay author Judith Bourque describes the unexpected love affair that developed with Maharishi when she went to India as a young woman to become a teacher of Transcendental Meditation. 

Meet Judith Bourque in this reading/signing at the Stockholm shop. Free.

Syndicate content

Developed in cooperation with:

Multimediaambassaden, Mats Rytther