Author visit: Chris Jagger - ”Escorting the Monarch”

Author visit ”Escorting the Monarch” - Chris Jagger

STOCKHOLM | Monday 4th Dec at 17:00–18:00

Chris Jagger presenting and signing ”Escorting the Monarch – We Lead Others Follow”

Escorting the Monarch tells as close to an official history of the Special Escort Group (SEG) as one could hope for. Formed in 1952 and charged to protect HRH Queen Elizabeth, as well as visiting heads of state, terrorist prisoners, and priceless property – the group has an incredible history.

Son of a retired SEG officer, Chris builds on thorough archival research and privileged anecdotes gleaned from private interviews with former members of this world-class team.

Poetry Game Night in Stockholm

Poetry Game Night in Stockholm

STOCKHOLM | Thursday 30th Nov at 18:30

ビギン!Let’s play! Join us on Thursday for a Poetry Game Night – we’ll play an English version of the ancient (and action-packed) Japanese poetry game Karuta. 

Karuta is known as an intellectual martial arts game in Japan – but no prior knowledge is needed for our game night! No need to know Japanese, or even English poetry – just grab the correct cards before the others do in order to win!

Fun for all – and you could win a gift certificate to the Japanese restaurant Blue Light Yokohama in Sofo!

Free – bring family and friends!

Read more on the facebook events page:
https://www.facebook.com/events/139675673357548/

Celebrating 22 years in Uppsala!

22 years in Uppsala

UPPSALA | Saturday 18th November 2017

On 18th November 1995, the Uppsala English Bookshop opened on the upper floor in a green wooden building from 1826, right on the river Fyris in the middle of historic Uppsala.

And today we celebrate 22 years in Uppsala! We couldn’t have made it without you, our customers, friends and family – so a big thanks goes out to you all. And thank you for making the bookshop the Shop of the Year 2017 in Uppsala!

What happens after #metoo?

What happens after #metoo?

STOCKHOLM | Friday 24th Nov at 18–20

We’re proud to be hosting the launch for We Need to Talk – solidarity and survivorship.
A book about what happens after #metoo by award-winning spoken word artist Agnes Török.

This is a free event, open to all. 10% of proceeds from the book are donated to organisations working to end sexual violence and support victims and survivors.

Come for the poetry reading, and the panel discussion of what to do after #metoo. Stay for the mingle, snacks and chance to support the great work of FATTA, Föreningen Tillsammans and Stjärnjouren - Sundbybergs Tjejjour among others. Refreshments, merchandise and books sold.

WE NEED TO TALK
is a call to arms.
A voice in the silence.
The beginnings of a plan on How To Change Everything.
Let’s start right now.

» Feel free to share and RSVP this facebook event

Release: 99 Americanisms that Captured the World

Release 99 Americanisms that Captured the World

STOCKHOLM | Thursday 16th Nov at 18:00

”…two countries divided by a common language”

Join us and the Swedish-British Society in the Stockholm shop for the release of 99 Americanisms that Captured the World – the latest book by the President of the Swedish-British Society, Professor Wilhelm Engström, and his co-author Dr Fergal Donnelly

The authors will expand on ”…two countries divided by a common language”, a bon mot normally attributed to Oscar Wilde. It sounds innocuous enough to our ears, as do ’reliable’, ’influential’ and ’lengthy’, which all inspired loathing when they first crossed the Atlantic. 

Understanding the game of linguistic and cultural differences can make the course of business run more smoothly, but even if we learn each other’s language there is still a natural barrier that keeps our two worlds apart. 

Find out more at the book release event on November 16th.
Snacks and refreshments will be served. Free event.

» Feel free to share and RSVP to this facebook event

Girls’ Night in the bookshop

Girls’ Night in the city and the bookshop

UPPSALA | Thursday 9th Nov all night 19–21

Girls’ Night in Uppsala City. We’re open 19–21. Book recommendations by Else & Shirin. Get personal reading recommendations & great tips for Christmas. Win a gift certificate! A cosy night, with snacks & refreshments.
. .
Tjejkväll i Uppsala city torsdag 9 nov 19–21. På The English Bookshop har vi ”Boktipsarkväll med Else & Shirin”: Få personliga rekommendationer och perfekta julklappstips. Vinn presentkort! Mys, snacks & förfriskningar. Extraöppet hela tjejkvällen 19–21.

Books of the Month for November 2017

Discover the Books of the Month for November – there’s something for everyone!

Books of the Month – Fiction- Classics - Short Stories

MODERN FICTION
Selection Day – Aravind Adiga

A moving and beautifully observed novel, of adolescence, ambition and self-realization, of fathers and sons, set in contemporary Bombay, by the Man Booker Prize winning author of The White Tiger and Last Man in Tower.

Merlin - the man, the myth, the legend. Book launch

Book launch The Wrathful Traveller – Rhuddem Gwelin

STOCKHOLM | Thursday 9th Nov at 18:30

Welcome to the launch of Rhuddem Gwelin’s latest book The Wrathful Traveller – the Merlin Chronicles Volume 2.

The evening will begin with some reflections by the author on the role the legendary Merlin has played in the historical battle between magic and the ever-more powerful church. She will then read excerpts from the novel to show how Merlin is cast into the madness of the Crusades.

Why Shakespeare? Talk with Ruby Jand


Why Shakespeare? Talk with Ruby Jand

UPPSALA | Tuesday 7th Nov at 19:00

WHY SHAKESPEARE? Shakespeare Calling with Ruby Jand

Who is Hamlet? Is Lady Macbeth really evil? Can Caliban really be a twitchy speeded Goth freak? Why are Shakespeare’s characters so interesting to us even today – 400 years after his death?

Author visit: Brian Kimberling – Snapper

Meet Brian Kimberling

STOCKHOLM | Thursday 19th October at 18:30

A birdwatcher’s guide to the human heart – an unconventional coming of age story from an unforgettable new voice that will appeal to fans of David Vann and Annie Proulx.

With wry humour and real freshness, Snapper charts the disastrous love affair between career birdwatcher Nathan Lochmueller and the place that made him.

Brian Kimberling grew up in Evansville, Indiana, and graduated from Indiana University. As a student he was involved in a major study of songbirds, an experience central to his first novel, Snapper. Subsequently he taught English in the Czech Republic, Mexico, and Turkey. He now lives in England.

Meet Brian in the Stockholm shop on Thursday 19th October at 18:30
Tickets 30:-. Get your ticket today!

Books of the Month – April 2020

Anna Hope
Expectation
Paperback

Fiction of the month
(soon in stock!)

Patricia Grace
Potiki
Paperback

Classic of the month

Nicole Flattery
Show Them a Good Time
Paperback

Short Stories of the month

Beth O’Leary
The Flatshare
Paperback

FeelGood of the month
NEW CATEGORY!

Sulari Gentill
A Few Right Thinking Men
Paperback

Mystery of the month

Tracy Clark
Broken Places
Paperback

Noir of the month

Suzanne Palmer
Finder
Paperback

Sci-Fi of the month

Rachel Atwood
Walk the Wild with Me
Paperback

Fantasy of the month

Irene Radford
A Spoonful of Magic
Paperback

Urban Fantasy of the month

Sheena Kamal
Fight Like a Girl
Paperback

Teen/YA of the month

Sinéad Gleeson
Constellations
Paperback

– Reflections From Life

Non-Fiction of the month

Books of the Month – March 2020

Chloe Aridjis
Sea Monsters
Paperback

Fiction of the month

Jean Toomer
Cane
Paperback

Classic of the month

Julia Armfield
Salt Slow
Paperback

Short Stories of the month

C. M. Elliott
Sibanda and the Rainbird
Paperback

Mystery of the month

Glen Erik Hamilton
Mercy River
Paperback

Noir of the month

Valerie Valdes
Chilling Effect
Paperback

Sci-Fi of the month.

Adrian Tchaikovsky
Made Things
Paperback

Fantasy of the month.

A. J. Hackwith
The Library of the Unwritten
Paperback

Urban Fantasy of the month.

Becky Albertalli
Yes No Maybe So
Paperback

Becky Albertalli & Aisha Saeed.
Teen/YA of the month.

Mark Boyle
The Way Home
Paperback

Tales from a life without technology.
Non-Fiction of the onth.

Books of the Month – February 2020

Jenny McCartney
The Ghost Factory
Paperback

Fiction of the month

George Eliot
Silas Marner
Paperback

Classic of the month

Elizabeth Hand
Fire
Paperback

Short stories of the month

Sam Hurcom
A Shadow on the Lens
Paperback

Mystery of the month

Garry Disher
Bitter Wash Road
Paperback

Noir of the month

Arkady Martine
A Memory Called Empire
Paperback

Sci-Fi of the month

Luke Arnold
The Last Smile in Sunder City
Paperback

Fantasy of the month

Dan Stout
Titanshade
Paperback

Urban Fantasy of the month

Natalie C. Anderson
Let's Go Swimming on Doomsday
Paperback

Teen/YA of the month

Caroline Criado Perez
Invisible Women
Paperback

Exposing Data Bias in a World Designed for Men.
Non-Fiction of the month

Books of the Month – January 2020

Taylor Jenkins Reid
Daisy Jones and The Six
Paperback

General Fiction of the month

Developed in cooperation with:

Multimediaambassaden, Mats Rytther